Things That Filled My Heart This Week

This has been a rough week; one of the roughest – if not the roughest – yet.

It’s not that I can’t talk about it – there are just … so many things surrounding what’s happening, so many things woven through it. I can hardly process all of it for myself, let alone put it out there in digestible chunks for everyone else.

In the middle of everything, there have been things that have really touched my heart, things through which God has reminded me I am not forgotten. Here they are, in no particular order.

Last Thursday, I was one of the volunteers for my church’s youth lock-in. Most of the kids were teens, but we did have a younger kid there (nine, if I’m not mistaken), and at one point in the evening he came and sat beside me with his tablet and showed me pictures of his cats.

This song. Earth has no sorrow that heaven can’t cure.

You remember how much I loved There and Back by George MacDonald? Well, Wednesday morning, my friend, Kathy, of Katie’s Cottage Books (a really fun blog) reached out to tell me there was more to the story! Two of the characters in There and Back have their own story in The Curate of Glaston, which, yes, I immediately downloaded and started reading. I love the story, of course, but I was even more grateful that Kathy thought of me enough to pass along that information.

Wednesday night, at Bible Study, I smiled and waved at my youth pastor’s son. (I think he’s about five). He doesn’t know me really well, but he came and sat with me through the entire service. We drew pictures.

My younger sister called me. And we talked for awhile. My younger brother called me. My sister-in-law texted me. I’ve been reached out to.

Others who know what’s going on have been incredible, saying the words I need to hear: I’m sorry. I’m praying. Let me know if there’s anything I can do. I have people. A lot of them.

And so while my heart is full of sadness, it’s full of good things, too.

3 thoughts on “Things That Filled My Heart This Week

Comments are closed.