The Silent Treatment by Melanie Surani, A Review

51oMXK7GEXL__SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

[CLICK TO BUY]

About The Silent Treatment (from Amazon):

Twenty-eight year old Katrina Jaitley is rebuilding her life after escaping an abusive boyfriend. The last thing she needs is the mystery she stumbles on during a bout of retail therapy. But she can’t ignore the coil of film — a piece of movie history — she finds hidden inside her purchase. Unfortunately, Peter, the handsome host of the estate sale, disappears before Kat has a chance to return it to him.

Curious, Kat watches the strip and is shocked to witness the brutal murder of a famous 1920’s silent film star by a fellow actor. When a news article cites Kat as the film’s owner, her already complicated life goes from bad to worse. Someone begins stalking her. Are they trying to silence her or what she has discovered?

About Melanie Surani (from Amazon):

Melanie Surani is a blogger, hair stylist, and author with a heart for international travel. She grew up in Memphis, Tennessee before taking extended trips to Canada, Germany, and Philadelphia.

When she isn’t cutting hair, Melanie is thinking about ways to kill people (for mystery novels). DVDs of British comedies help keep her calm. She lives with her husband and cat in New York City, where she is hard at work on her next novel with Booktrope Publishing.

You can connect with her on her blog, Facebook, and Twitter.

My Review:

Okay, full disclosure: I was the project manager for Melanie Surani’s Awake at Booktrope Publishing. I really enjoyed Awake (and no, I am not just saying that), so when The Silent Treatment went on sale through Booktrope’s #PreFunk promotion, I picked it up. This review was not solicited in any way, nor do I in any way benefit from the sale of The Silent Treatment. As with all my reviews, this is my unadulterated opinion.

I give The Silent Treatment 4 out of 5 stars.

It’s a very different book from Awake, which is more of a thriller and very suspenseful. The Silent Treatment is more laidback. Surani takes her time introducing the main character, Kat, along with her history. The plot unwinds slowly as well, with plenty of foreshadowing.

The characters were all very three-dimensional and engaging. I identified with Kat and her background, especially coming from a more conservative background and everything that entails as I’ve come into my own, although I’m not the aficionado of silent films that she is. (Having gone to film school, I do appreciate that aspect of her character, though.) And my goodness, everyone needs a bestie like Bridget. Heck, everyone should be a bestie like Bridget. I loved how she would push and prod Kat at times throughout the story.

Surani is a master (mistress?) at foreshadowing. I loved the elements she included throughout the story that subtly pointed where things were headed. Truly brilliant.

This story also shows a glimpse of how painstaking it is to regain life after abuse. Although The Silent Treatment is a mystery, I think this is actually the most serious plot element – or at least, it was for me.

I highly recommend The Silent Treatment for lovers of mystery. It’s a great read for curling up on the couch on a rainy day. (Or a snowy/icy day if you’re somewhere in the world where that happens).

