#Thanksgiving Day 5: Five Bible Verses

Well, it’s the day after Thanksgiving, and I pray our hearts are full as we head into the Christmas season. (Mine certainly is.) For now, though, I have one more list to share with you – five Bible verses I’m thankful for. I’d love if you’d share yours with me, too. If you don’t read the Bible, or don’t have favorite verses from the Bible, you’re welcome to share your favorite inspirational quotes instead.

Here are mine:

  • “But now, this is what the Lord says—he who created you, Jacob, he who formed you, Israel: ‘Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze'” (Isaiah 43:1-2 NIV, emphasis mine).
  • “Here is my servant, whom I uphold, my chosen one in whom I delight; I will put my Spirit on him, and he will bring justice to the nations. He will not shout or cry out, or raise his voice in the streets. A bruised reed he will not break, and a smoldering wick he will not snuff out. In faithfulness he will bring forth justice; he will not falter or be discouraged till he establishes justice on earth. In his teaching the islands will put their hope” (Isaiah 42:1-4 NIV, emphasis mine).
  • “The people walking in darkness have seen a great light; on those living in the land of deep darkness a light has dawned…For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders.
    And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. Of the greatness of his government and peace there will be no end. He will reign on David’s throne and over his kingdom, establishing and upholding it with justice and righteousness from that time on and forever. The zeal of the Lord Almighty will accomplish this
    ” (Isaiah 9:2, 6-7 NIV).
  • “Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed, says the Lord, who has compassion on you” (Isaiah 54:10 NIV). I actually really love ALL of Isaiah 54. It’s too long to post in its entirety, but you should check it out when you have the chance.
  • “Some wandered in desert wastelands, finding no way to a city where they could settle. They were hungry and thirsty, and their lives ebbed away. Then they cried out to the Lord in their trouble, and he delivered them from their distress. He led them by a straight way to a city where they could settle. Let them give thanks to the Lord for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for mankind, for he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things” (Psalm 107:4-9 NIV). This is another one of those chapters where the whole thing speaks to me.

What about YOU? What are some Bible verses or inspirational quotes you’re thankful for?

One thought on “#Thanksgiving Day 5: Five Bible Verses

  1. ~ God said to Moses, I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: I AM has sent me to you. Exodus 3:14
    ~ Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me.” John 14:1 (There’s more.) 🙂
    ~ In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; with him nothing was made that has been made.” John 1:1 (There’s more, read on.) 🙂
    ~ I am the Alpha and Omega, says the Lord God, who is, who was, and who is to come, the Almighty. Revelation 1:8
    ~ God is love. I John 4:16 (Read on, there is so much more.) 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.