#Thanksgiving Day 4: Five Things That Didn’t Happen

I’m releasing my Thursday post on Wednesday because I’m going to be spending time with my family tomorrow, and making sure everything posts properly to social media is not going to be a priority. But hey, it’s Thursday somewhere, right?

Today, I was scrolling through my blog feed and read a post about how so many of our thoughts center on the things we do have, when we also need to be thankful for the things we don’t have. That got me thinking because there are some things I don’t have, that haven’t happened, for which I am truly grateful.

  • Death. And I don’t just mean the spiritual death (separation from God) from which I’ve been saved through Jesus, though I am deeply thankful for that. I am referring to the times when all I wanted was to get out, and the only avenue I could see to get out was death. I’m thankful I wasn’t successful.
  • Going to UNT in 2008. I’m grateful for this season where I began to follow Jesus, started learning about loving people, and fell head over heels in love for the first time. I’m also grateful for all of the people I would never have met if I’d gone in 2008 instead of when I went in 2009.
  • Marriage. I wouldn’t be an author now if I’d gotten married. I’d still be over at Wilderness Adventure blogging about relationships and all that good stuff. I might never have made time for my fiction writing.
  • Career. There was this one time I went out and was interviewed for a job that was perfect for me, and I was perfect for it. Not even kidding. I didn’t get it. I was angry for about three months, then things started changing for me: I started loving the job I was in. That job was my community, my ministry until I left it in August. More than that, I got a vision of who I wanted to be in the workplace – not someone who is ambitious and striving for a career, but someone who works hard and leaves everyone better for having been around me.
  • Seattle. When I left Texas, I didn’t move quite as radically northwest as I originally thought I would, but I know I am right where I need to be in Oklahoma City. I’ve already seen my life changed SO much since getting here, and I know the blessing and growth is only just beginning. I can’t wait to see what God does next.

What about YOU? Is there anything you’re thankful hasn’t happened in your life?

