#Thanksgiving Day 3: Five TV Shows

Compared to my other lists, this one may seem shallow, because who in the world is thankful for TV shows of all things? (Me. That’s who.)

Here’s the thing: growing up, I didn’t watch any TV, only movies. When I hit college, I started watching a few shows on Hulu, and then I switched to Netflix a few years ago, where I started watching not a few shows. (After all, I was a Radio, Television, and Film major). I think there’s a lot to be learned about narrative arc from TV shows; at least, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Anyway, I cancelled my Netflix account earlier this month, because I was watching too often and for too long, and there are other things that need to be done.

Still, there are shows that I love, that resonate with in my deep places, and for that I am grateful. Make sure you share yours, too!

  • The Office. Whenever I’m feeling a little down, I watch a random episode or two of this show, and it never fails to cheer me up. I love Jim’s pranks on Dwight, the stupid things Michael says, Jim and Pam’s romance, and the progressive breakdown of the fourth wall and how it’s not really a breakdown of the fourth wall at all. (See? My degree in Radio, Television, and Film has some use after all!)
  • Gilmore Girls. This is just a feel-good show. There’s a diverse and quirky cast of characters just doing life in a New England setting. It’s a life I wouldn’t mind having, and in a way, I do have it – at least, the diverse and quirky cast of characters doing life part.
  • Once Upon a Time. This show managed to bring characters from all of my favorite fairy tales and stories to life while keeping things original. It’s so much fun seeing how the creators work everyone in. I didn’t love the Frozen first half of the fourth season (like, how random and out of place was that?!), but they got me back in with all of the author/book stuff.
  • Revenge. I am pretty sure that good Christian girls are not supposed to like this show, but I loved it. I was completely hooked by the premise of a girl taking down the people who destroyed her family. I wasn’t sure where it was going, but the finale was brilliant.
  • Jane the Virgin. This one is a new favorite. I just like that with so many shows out there that portray losing virginity as a milestone that needs to be achieved as quickly as possible, this show says it’s not a race. Nothing in life needs to be a race. I love the off-beat humor and the drama, too.

What about YOU? Any TV shows for which you’re thankful?

One thought on “#Thanksgiving Day 3: Five TV Shows

  1. Oh my goodness. This is a different and fun idea! I like “Elementary.” I love a good mystery and this TV show never fails me. Mysteries are my favorites. “Last of the Summer Wine,” is a fun comedy about some elderly people in a village in England. I enjoyed seeing these older people live life and have a great time doing it! I had never heard of this show until a few years ago. I was flipping around the channels and saw it on PBS. I watched it and was instantly hooked. I think it’s an old show by the BBS. “Hart to Hart,” is on one of our retro channels. Jonathan Hart is a multi-millionaire married to Jennifer and they solve mysteries. I don’t care for the mysteries so much but I do love this couple. They are so in love and they have great fun together. “Columbo” is a quirky detective and his mysteries are great. He’s another one on the retro channel. I always enjoyed the Bill Cosby show. Dr. and Mrs. Huxtable and their energetic family. I don’t know how to spell that. They were a great family, what’s not to love?
    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.