#Thanksgiving Day 1: Five Books

Thanksgiving is my absolute favorite holiday. It’s my family’s big holiday, bigger than Christmas. Always has been. It’s full of people and games and conversation, and of course, food. Usually, we’re celebrating all week.

This year, I only get to be with my family on Thursday since I moved to Oklahoma and my work schedule won’t allow a longer visit. So. I’ve decided to put on a week-long celebration on my blog by sharing a few lists of things I’m thankful for related to reading, writing, and matters of faith. (Not that I think I’ll be wallowing in self-pity or anything – I have more than enough to keep me busy here. I just want to celebrate, you know?)

Today, I’m sharing five books I’m thankful for, and I’m asking you to do the same in the comments. Just one rule: if you want to use the Bible, you have to name a specific book (or books) in the Bible. You can’t just say the Bible.

Without further ado, here are five books I’m thankful for this year:

  • Isaiah (from the Bible). Some people come to Jesus because of the gospel of John, but the gospel of Isaiah is what saved my life. It opened my eyes to the existence of an intimate God, and continues to comfort me with His plan to restore the humanity to its original place … in His presence … when I’m feeling a little lost.
  • There and Back by George MacDonald. Reading this book reminded me of something I’ve begun to call “the slow fall.” I’m always in such a hurry to get where I’m going (wherever that is – I don’t even really know) that I don’t enjoy the steps it takes to get there. The characters are unhurried – they just … are.
  • Candy Pizza by Charlotte Cuevas. It’s a fun little collection of poetry about entering adulthood. Cuevas once said it was poetry for people who don’t like poetry, and that is certainly true. Cuevas is someone who gets the stage of life I’m in, and I love her writing.
  • The Elijah Task by John Loren and Paula Sanford. This book really challenged me on how to handle my spiritual gifts in a way that wouldn’t upset all of the cessationists in my life, but would allow me to exercise it in honor of the Giver.
  • Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella. (Hey, a girl’s gotta’ have her fluff reads, okay?) I first read this book in between my sophomore and junior years of college, when I had to postpone my education because of my own spending habits. To this day, I still love Rebecca Bloomwood. I’m not crazy about all of the sequels, because they get repetitive after a while, but I love the first one.

What about you? What are five books you’re thankful for?

2 thoughts on “#Thanksgiving Day 1: Five Books

  1. Five books I’m thankful for! Nice. Well, the Bible is #1 but I won’t include it.
    The Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis, specifically, The Chronicles of Narnia. These books have been a favorite for a long time and I will count them as one book. 🙂
    The Curate of Glaston by George MacDonald. I love the story of Thomas, his journey and the lives he touched. Anything by George MacDonald is usually good and this one has always been a favorite.
    The Mitford Series by Jan Karon. I will count this as one book also. Good friendships and strong sense of community. I love Cynthia. She is so full of love, innocence and faith.
    A Wish Made of Glass by Ashlee Willis. This book is so beautifully written. 🙂
    A Lady Like Sarah by Margaret Brownley. Hey! A girl has to laugh. This is a funny clean romance. I chuckled all the way through it.
    Nice feature Lydia!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.