#SundayNspiration: Jehovah Jireh

26f52682ed16423a7b15dd2c873fbc2f

 

I was having a bit of a moment as the move was winding down yesterday.

Then someone from my church showed up, and was telling my dad about our Feed the Sheep ministry and the turkeys they gave away yesterday. My dad shared a testimony – often shared this time of year – about a year my family didn’t have turkey for Thanksgiving, and God provided FIVE.

As we passed each other on the sidewalk, my younger sister and I grinned at each other and said at the same time, “Dad’s telling the turkey story.”

Because of how God has provided for our family, my dad is a very generous man (even when it would seem he can’t afford to be), and I hope I inherit that. I am also proud to serve with a local church that ministers the way my family has been ministered to.

Bigger than that, it was a reminder that God has me, and always has. (Because, seriously, in March my dad has another story of God’s provision that we call “Lydia’s story”).

“He brought me out into a spacious place; he rescued me because he delighted in me … Therefore I will praise you, Lord, among the nations; I will sing praises to your name” (Psalm 18:19, 49 NIV).

