It Doesn’t All Have to Happen Right Now

Good gravy, y’all. Moving is no joke. (And I’m not even done yet). Yesterday, I moved my things from my temporary residence to my new apartment, and then on Saturday, I’m bringing the rest of my stuff from Texas. Good thing I’m not planning on doing this again anytime soon.

In the hustle and bustle that was yesterday, as I kept thinking about all of the things I needed to do and get for my new place, there was this little voice in the back of my mind, It doesn’t all have to happen right now, Lydia.

And that ended up being a good thing, because I spent 45 minutes putting up a shower curtain rod. Not the shower curtain. The rod. (I mean, seriously, who needs directions? Not this girl. Obviously.)

By the time I finished with that, I literally crashed. If you’re wondering, my plan today involves a nap before I even think about doing anything else. And that will be okay. It’s not like my apartment is going anywhere.

Anyway, with everything else going on, I managed to squeeze in our mid-week prayer meeting and Bible study at church, and I’m so glad I did. God knew exactly what I needed.

During our prayer time, I was talking to God about something personal, something I’d like right now, and if not right now, as soon as possible. And again, I heard that voice: It doesn’t all have to happen right now, Lydia. But I wasn’t listening. Not really, anyway.

Then, during Bible study, my pastor taught on Satan’s temptation of Jesus in Matthew 4, and he brought up something really profound, which I will attempt to paraphrase without completely butchering it. Basically, he said that Satan was trying to get Jesus to short circuit God’s plan by offering Him something more immediate.

I know, right?

It doesn’t all have to happen right now, Lydia. In fact, what you’re asking Me for right now would cause pain and confusion if I did it right now. You need to wait.  

This seems to be a theme in my life, the waiting. (I blame my Dad, who has prayed the Greek word hypomeno over my life since I was a little girl.) But it’s a different kind of waiting than I’ve done in the past, which usually consists of waiting in prayer. I mean, I still do that with lots of things, but with this particular situation, God seems to be directing me to wait to even ask. There will be a time to ask, but … this is not the time.

And, you know, that’s okay. My life is brimming right now as it is. I am blessed as God has brought me to the next level in life, ministry, and work, and so I’m just going to be in that right now.

 “Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything” (James 1:4 NIV).

