5 Reasons You Should Read #TCO3Bloodline by Tabitha Caplinger

51ABgH5yoeL__SX321_BO1,204,203,200_

[CLICK TO BUY]

About The Chronicle of the Three: Bloodline (from Amazon):

Zoe thought the loss of her parents would be the most difficult thing she’d ever have to endure. When she began seeing things she couldn’t explain in her new home of Torchcreek, Virginia, she was sure the grief was driving her mad. Instead Zoe discovers she is part of an ancient bloodline, one destined to prevent the powers of darkness from condemning the world. But Zoe, the daughter of the three, isn’t just another descendant–she’s the key to humanity’s salvation. In this first installment of the Christian fantasy trilogy The Chronicle of the Three, Zoe Andrews learns that not all shadows are harmless interceptions of light. Some are a more sinister darkness that wants to torment the soul.

About Tabitha Caplinger (from Amazon):

Tabitha and her husband, Brian, have been in youth ministry for close to 15 years. Both are ordained ministers with the Assemblies of God and are the student pastors at Faith Community Church in House Springs, Missouri where they live with their two sassy daughters. Writing has slowly crept its way into Tabitha’s ministry calling and vision. At present her heart is set on fiction. She loves the drama of storytelling and getting lost in imagination along with creating characters who’s lives have a message. She believes that stories can bring to life the Gospel in a way no sermon can. Her desire is to craft a story that would minister to and motivate young adults in their faith. She also has a TV addiction for which she does not plan to get help anytime soon.

You can connect with Tabitha on her website/blog, Twitter, and Facebook.

My review:

I give The Chronicle of the Three: Bloodline by Tabitha Caplinger 4.5 out of 5 stars.

I kind of don’t know where to start with this book, so I decided to make a list, since lists help when I’m feeling all the feels and thinking all the thoughts. So without further ado, here are five reasons you should read TCO3: Bloodline by Tabitha Caplinger:

  1. You will not be able to put it down. I’m not just saying that the story and characters and setting keep the reader engaged (that’s important); I’m saying it’s so engaging, there is no good stopping point, and so you have to keep reading. This is how a normal morning goes for me: read a book, read the news when I need a break from that, read blogs when I need a break from that, browse social media when I need a break from that, and go back to the book when I’ve exhausted everything else. (I have a job that allows for this, in case you were wondering). This is how yesterday morning went for me: read TCO3: Bloodline. I couldn’t put it down, and you won’t be able to either.
  2. The characters. I loved them all, but I related best to Claire – single, thirties (although I’m not in my thirties, my older sisters informed me last month, I am approaching them), sings while she cooks, rises to the occasion of raising her niece (without the resentment of the aunts in No Reservations and Raising Helen), kicks butt and takes numbers. (I mean, obviously, this is my kind of woman). There were moments with other characters, too: Maggie, who can’t imagine why anyone might want to be her friend; Daniel, coming to an understanding that choices aren’t always easy; and Zoe – God bless Zoe – full of an unapologetic optimism in redemption for everyone.
  3. Spiritual warfare in the physical realm. Caplinger takes the important theme of spiritual warfare and brings it to a physical realm.  I don’t just mean that the story takes place here on earth, or that there are emotional battles being fought (though that is the case); I mean there are literal battles. Much of the fiction I’ve read that deals with spiritual warfare, doesn’t include physical fighting. (The Field didn’t until it’s most recent edition, and even now, it’s minimal). I was really impressed with this element, and I think it brought the reality of spiritual warfare to the next level.
  4. There are a lot of fun moments. Yes, TCO3: Bloodline deals with spiritual warfare, but life goes on around it. There is breakfast, and pie, and singing, and dancing, and witty repartee. It’s very … normal. (It could happen to any of us…ooh).
  5. It’s a great alternative to much of what exists in the YA market. This is both praise for Caplinger and Vox Dei Publishing (full disclosure: my publisher) because they have managed to bring a story that contains the classic elements of YA fiction (difficulties navigating high school relationships, a romantic element, and intrigue, to name a few), yet manages to empower teens at the same time. The teens in this story are kind and brave and relatable (i.e. not perfect), and they also have mentors who care for them and speak into their lives, something that is all-too-often missing in YA fiction, and perhaps in real life. (Let’s bring that back, shall we?)

The only thing I wasn’t quite sure about was the relationship between Michael and Claire, but overall, I couldn’t get enough of TCO3: Bloodline, and am eagerly awaiting the sequel.

To read about my trust issues concerning unfinished series, click here. The struggle is real.

Full Disclosure: While Tabitha and I share a publisher, and I did win the TCO3: Bloodline ebook at a party, this review was unsolicited, and as with all my reviews, is my unadulterated opinion.

