My Life Verse

 “I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” – John 10:10b

Three years ago, I thought these words were a lie. I had believed them at one time – that Jesus came to give me abundant life, but my life was anything but abundant.

I felt like I had been pushed face down to the ground, and someone was keeping me there with his foot on my back. I’ll be honest: I thought it was God.

I wrestled for months to get out from under whatever it was, to no avail. I became angrier and angrier. I asked God why He was keeping me from abundant life.

Eventually, I stopped struggling, and just laid there, face in the mud. I can’t tell you when the foot left my back, just that it did, and I didn’t get up, for fear of being pushed back down again.

But I couldn’t look at these words from Jesus – that He came for life, and not just any life, but abundant life – or any words from the Bible without getting really angry.

Now, three years later, these words are my lifeline.

You see, I had forgotten the first part of this verse, “The thief comes to steal, kill, and destroy.” There is still no doubt in my mind that something was holding me to the ground and rubbing my face in it, but I understand now that it wasn’t God. It was the thief.

God is about life. Full and over-flowing life.

When I get away from that now, I’ve got to ask where I’ve let the enemy in to steal, kill, and destroy. He’s sneaky, so it’s not always easy to spot where he got in, and it might be something I’m too stubborn or proud to let go of. He’s a liar, so he’ll try to make it seem like I have no power against him, when all I have to do is speak Jesus’ name. I’ve got to remember that as long as I’m down for the count, he’s happy, and if there’s anything I hate doing, it’s giving an antagonist that kind of satisfaction.

I am not here to be robbed, destroyed, or killed. I am here for life, abundant life.

In Psalm 16, it says, “You will show me the path of life; in your presence is fullness of joy.” It reminds me that fullness (abundance) is found in God’s presence, and that because of Jesus, I have that all the time.

“The thief comes to steal, kill, and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly” (John 10:10).

That is what I claim for my life – the first part as a reminder, the second part as a promise.

What about you? Do you have a life verse? Why did you choose that verse? I’d love to hear from you.

