When Taylor Swift Is Right

Several months ago, I wrote this post on Taylor Swift’s ‘Bad Blood’ and my heart for restoration, and how the two were at odds:

I get this song.

In the middle of one of my (many) listens, I was convicted because the message of this song is at times the anthem of my heart (even before it was written, probably).  Someone hurts me, sometimes in an already wounded place, and I distance myself so as not to give that person that opportunity again.  Even if I don’t write about it, or say anything at all, my attitude and actions will say, This. Can’t. Be. Fixed.  Just like Taylor Swift’s Bad Blood.

And that’s a problem.

You see, recently God has been teaching me about restoration – both His heart for restoration, and how He wants me to have a heart for restoration.  I petition God on a daily basis for restoration, telling Him it’s what I want.

But is it?

Is it really?

Because what is restoration but to fix something? To return it to its intended condition and purpose?

Is my heart for bad blood, or is it for restoration?

I stand by that, but as I consider the Duggar family and McKinney and now Charleston, I recognize a grain of truth in Taylor Swift’s song: “Band-Aids don’t fix bullet holes.”

Christians, if we want healing and restoration from sexual abuse and racism and any other evil we can name in this world, we must not minimize it. We must look it full in the face, call it what it is, and actively stand against it. We must dig out the shrapnel, and care for the wound until it heals. And we must remember that sometimes, if a wound is deep enough, it leaves a scar.

Because do you know what will happen if we slap a Band-Aid over it like it’s no big deal? It’s going to get infected and fester. And it’s going to destroy us.

I want to acknowledge that Jesus is where our ultimate hope for healing is found:

And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God.  He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!” (Revelation 21:3-5a NIV).

All too often, the popular Christian response to the evils we encounter is, “Come, Lord Jesus,” because we know our sorrows are not forever. Of course we long for Jesus to come back and make all things right, but have we forgotten that we are His body now? That we have the mind of Christ, and the power of the Holy Spirit to be agents of healing and restoration in this very moment? That when we pray for God’s Kingdom to come and His will to be done it happens through us? That we have been given every weapon needed to fight against evil?

Why do we so often act like there is nothing we can do? (Maybe because we’ve embraced an incorrect view of God, but that’s another subject for another day).

As followers of Jesus, may we all pursue restoration with the knowledge that there is hope for healing. May we understand that Band-Aids don’t – no, can’t fix bullet holes (and boy, does the human race have some bullet holes). And may we embrace our  very real calling as the body of Christ to be His hands and feet here and now.

One thought on “When Taylor Swift Is Right

Comments are closed.