Entertaining Angels: A Review

“God wants you to know you’re beautiful, inside and out, and you have no reason to doubt Him or the people He’s put in your life to remind you of your beauty.” ~from Entertaining Angels

41YKydXdErL

[CLICK HERE TO BUY]

About Entertaining Angels (from Amazon):

Madison Andrews can’t face her reflection in the mirror. All she sees is a big, fat nobody. Yet, deep inside she longs for something more, something that’s not skin deep. Along comes Zach, the new guy in high school. He’s smoking hot and totally out of her league. She somehow catches his eye, and he makes her feel beautiful for once. But just as she gets close to Zach, her nerdy best friend, Chase, won’t let Madison doubt her true beauty, no matter how many meals she skips. Dark forces are at work, darker than the lies and mocking from her peers, stopping her from amounting to her full potential. With her newfound Christian faith, can Madison find true happiness in her own skin amidst the battle of angels and demons?

About Emerald Barnes (from Amazon):

Emerald Barnes graduated with a B.A. in English with an emphasis on Creative Writing at Mississippi University for Women. She resides in a small town in Mississippi and has the accent to prove it. She’s an auntie to three beautiful nieces and two handsome nephews. She’s a Whovian, a little bit of a nerd, a reader, a writer, and a family-oriented person. God is number one in her life, and she thanks Him continuously for His love and favor.

She blogs on WordPress and Blogspot and you can connect with her on Facebook and Twitter.

My Review:

I give Entertaining Angels by Emerald Barnes 4 out of 5 stars.

Like most of us, Madison Andrews doesn’t like what she sees when she looks in the mirror. In spite of assurances from her best friend, she remains convinced no one else likes what they see when they look at her, either. Even with the heavy subject matter, Entertaining Angels is nevertheless a sweet, inspiring read.

I’ve been overweight (and teased and/or poked at about it) since I was a little girl, so I get Madison. I loved seeing a character so real about her view of herself. I identified as she put on weight: “Could they tell that I’d put on some weight? Gosh. I hoped not, but how could they not? I was huge.” I identified as she longed to be noticed: “I glanced at Zach again and wondered what it would be like to be loved, or at least liked by a man like him. But hot guys didn’t want me.” And I identified as God pursued her, and she found ways to avoid Him.

In a few instances, certain characters responded to Madison being antagonized by insulting the antagonist’s body type and actions. I fully expected those characters to come to the conclusion that their comments equally as damaging as what was being said about Madison, but they never did, and that was a little disappointing.

Overall, however, I think many women (young and old) will identify with Madison and her story. The message that we are beautiful and we are loved as we are is powerful and much-needed.

