Resolve: Do Life Big

“Wherever you are, be all there.” ~Jim Elliot

New Year

This year, I am determined to do life BIG; to take every moment, every opportunity and push it to the max.  There’s just something about a major life change that triggers a boldness in me.  If 2014 was about life in the tension between what is and the uncertainty of what will be (and boy, was it ever!), the certainty of what’s coming next and when will diffuse some of that friction.  It will enable me to put appropriate focus on both what is and what will be and live fully present while making concrete plans for the future as well.  (Shout out to Nadine Brandes and her book A Time to Die for jumpstarting that perspective in me.  It still amazes me that God used a novel and the question, “How would you live if you only had one year left?” to get me up and moving towards His call).

Aside from making the most of my remaining time in the great state of Texas (which I’m discovering slowly that I will miss, at least a little) and moving to Seattle toward the end of this year,  I have some specific goals relating to the three things I blog about: reading, writing, and matters of faith.

Reading.  It is my goal to read 52 books this year.  You know, one a week.  I don’t have a list of specific books, but I’m kicking things off with Hilarey Johnson’s Sovereign Ground and Heart of Petra, Kaitlyn Deann’s The Witches’ Sleep and World of the Beasts,  and Donald Miller’s Searching for God Knows What.  I’m also working my way through Doris Lessing’s The Cleft and Joyce Carol Oates’ Bellefleur.  I also plan to review or analyze everything I read in some shape, form, or fashion. In order to do more book-reading, I will be reading fewer blogs and internet articles.

Writing.  It is my goal to finish, edit, and publish A Year with the Baptists this year.  I still don’t have an exact timeline for this, but I’m hoping to have it launched before moving to Seattle.  I also want to post here on the blog three times a week on reading, writing, and (you guessed it) matters of faith.  I’ll dedicate one post a week to what God is teaching me; a post related to writing (for example, an excerpt, an article that explores a theme in my writing, a short story or poem, or writing advice); and a post about reading (for example, a book review, critical analysis, or a list of some sort).  I’m also going to be writing more letters this year.

Matters of Faith. It is my goal to study the book of Proverbs this year, and develop a kids’ curriculum from that study at some point (may or may not start on that this year).  I don’t just want to dig into the proverbs themselves, but into their context.  I’m also reading the Old Testament history books, starting in 2 Samuel and going forward.  (I made it through 1 Samuel last year before giving up).  This way the only OT book I have not read on my own will be Leviticus.  (Who knows? Maybe I’ll tackle that this year as well).  I want to grow in and exercise my spiritual gifts: especially prophecy, but also exhortation and mercy-showing.  And, most of all,  I want to stop trying to be worthy of God’s love and just accept His love for me.

So there you have it: my resolve and goals for 2015.  What about you? Do you have any resolutions or goals for 2015? I’d love to hear about them!

2 thoughts on “Resolve: Do Life Big

Comments are closed.