It’s Time for an Announcement

So I’ve been sitting on this thing for a few weeks.  Since my post on hope, really.  I’ve only shared the news within a circle of very dear friends, some of whom have been praying about this thing since its inception nearly four years ago.

I’ve actually been slightly scared to share it, because sharing it makes it more real, like, there’s no going back now.  After all, I’m sharing where God is calling me to be, and when He’s calling me to be there, so if there’s any disobedience, well, everyone reading this blog will know.  Also, it means turning away from something very real in the here and now in order to wholeheartedly pursue God’s call, and I am terrified of missing out.  (It’s completely ridiculous, I know).

More and more, I realize it’s time to get off the fence, share the news, and fearlessly go after the vision God has given me.

So…

Dear Friends (whether you’ve joined me recently or you’ve been in my life for a long time),

Lord willing,  I will be moving from my longtime home in Dallas to Seattle in September 2015.  While this may seem sudden to people who haven’t known me for a long time, I have actually been praying about this move for what will be four years next month.  God placed Seattle on my heart at a time when I was seeking His will for my life after college, and in spite of several detours on my end, He has continued to bring it up again and again.  As I’ve researched Seattle in preparation for such a move, I’ve been drawn to the beauty of the Pacific Northwest, the entrepreneurial spirit of the city, the weather, and the culture.  I know beyond any doubt that God has great plans for me in Seattle, and well, I’m pretty stinkin’ excited.

The toughest question I’ve had to field has not been why I want to go to Seattle, but why not leave now since I’m so certain Seattle is where God is calling me.  Detours, my friends.  Detours.  I made a faithless decision to accept a job here in the DFW area that was less than what I should have accepted in just about every way.  During my time in that position, I accumulated nearly $30,000 in financial obligations.  Moving without a good full-time job in Seattle in place has not been an option, and such an opportunity has not arisen.  However, God has really provided for my financial obligations by first moving me out of the less-than job into two part-time jobs.  Beginning next September,  I will be free from these obligations, and God really convicted me a few weeks ago that would be the time to make my move.

Here comes the fun part:  I will be moving, job or no job.  Of course, I will be looking for a job, and I am praying God provides one before I move, because it will just make life that much easier.   However, I know God is not about giving me what is easiest, but what is best, and I’m prepared to make a move whatever happens (or doesn’t happen, as the case may be).

Friends, will you pray with me and for me?  Right now, I need prayer that I will be faithful in reducing my debts and saving money for this move over the next ten months.  As I mentioned earlier, there is something I am struggling with giving up because I’m afraid of missing out on it – I don’t want to give tons of detail, but I need your prayers on that.  Pray for renewed enthusiasm for me: I am making the most concrete plans I’ve made for Seattle, but something about praying for this for four years has me all dried up inside.  There are practical things too: a trip to get my bearings before I move, moving expenses, a job, a place to live, a church, and anything else God lays on your heart to pray.

On one hand, I can’t believe it’s time to take definitive steps in Seattle’s direction, and on the other, I can’t help but think it’s about time.

Whew!

2015 is shaping up to be a crazy busy year what with A Year with the Baptists launching (still not certain on the date, but hopefully pre-Seattle), new writing projects, and now, a relocation.

Let’s do this! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “It’s Time for an Announcement

  1. How exciting! As one who was 1) Born in Seattle 2) Raised in Portland 3) Now lives in Fort Worth and 4) Misses the Pacific northwest daily…I’m super excited for you!

    Just spent four days in Seattle with my mom last month and it was so hard to leave…You will love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.