God’s Word Does Not Return Fruitless

“For as the rain comes down, and the snow from heaven, and do not return there, but water the earth, and make it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower and bread to the eater, so shall be My word that goes forth from My mouth; it shall not return to Me void, but it shall accomplish what I please, and it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it” (Isaiah 55:10-11 NKJV).

I rest in this promise.

God’s word, from His mouth, bears fruit.  It is life giving.

It does not need my help.  It does not need to be reimagined or revamped by me.

By itself, it fulfills the purposes God sends it too.

The enemy tries to get me to let this peace go, to make me think there is something I must do.  Not long ago, I would have taken that bait, but no longer: it is God, solely God who sends out His word to accomplish His purposes.

And then, the more subtle lie: that my purposes, however good and well-intentioned, are the same as God’s purposes.

But maybe, just maybe, when God’s word goes out, it produces fruit beyond what I can imagine or see.

Even more hidden deception comes to mind: that the benefit, the fruitfulness, the liveliness is strictly for the hearer.

No! It replenishes the one who imparts it as well!

Heavenly Father, I confess I overestimate my part in spreading Your word, and underestimate Yours.  I confess that as a writer, as a storyteller I’m continually looking for ways to present the gospel, as if Your word does not speak for itself, as if it needs to be in a clever guise for people to accept it.  Give me a heart to love Your word and to love sharing it with others without presentation. I confess that I always have an outcome in mind when I share Your word with anyone, and I rarely consider that Your purposes in having me share may be different from what I desire.  Give me a heart to leave the framework of intention behind and to just share Your word because it is good.  I confess that when sharing Your word, I am way too focused on the hearer, and not focused enough on  the goodness of Your word for me, and for others who are imparting it.  Give me a heart to see the practicality of Your word for me, and for the teams of people I work with, not just for the people we’re trying to reach.  Most of all, God, give me better and better understanding of how You are in control of where Your word goes and what it does once it’s there. Thank You, God!

“And I, when I am exalted from the earth, will draw all people to Myself” (John 12:32 NIV).

