Marvelous Light

 “[Give] joyful thanks to the Father, who has  qualified us to share in the inheritance of His holy people in the kingdom of light.  For He has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son He loves, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins” (Colossians 1:12-14, NIV).

This week I am celebrating six years following Jesus, and as I’ve been contemplating what He redeemed me from, this lovely song by Ellie Holcomb has been on my heart and mind.  Have a listen.

Marvelous Light

by Ellie Holcomb

I am not who I once was
Defined by all the things I’ve done
Afraid my shame would be exposed
Afraid of really being known
But then you gave my heart a home

So I walked out of the darkness and into the light
From fear of shame into the hope of life
Mercy called my name and made a way to fly
Out of the darkness and into the light

With years of keeping secrets safe
Wondering if I could change
‘Cause when you’re hiding all alone
Your heart can turn into a stone
And that’s not the way I want to go

So I walk out of the darkness and into the light
From fear of shame into the hope of life
Mercy called my name and made a way to fly
Out of the darkness and into the light

There’s no place I would rather be
Your light is Marvelous
Your light is Marvelous

You have come to set us free
You are Marvelous
Your light is Marvelous

 

“He has clothed me with garments of salvation, and arrayed me in a robe of His righteousness” (Isaiah 61:10b, NIV).

I have been learning how to be confident in who God has created me to be and do what He has called me to do.  I have been learning to stand up and fight.  I have been learning to take more risky, less travelled roads.  I have been learning to not get to attached to my own ideas and visions.

I have been learning that no one knows and loves me more intimately than my Creator.  I have been learning that He is the source of life, abundant and victorious life.  I have been learning that He (and He alone) is my Provider and Protector.  I have been learning that He is my Author and Finisher, and that He does all things perfectly and in perfect timing.

Sometimes I look at my life and I am amazed I made it to six years ago at all.  A few years ago, I was sharing my testimony with a mentor, and when I reached the part about this week six years ago, she said, “God was really protecting you.”  And I think, yes, He must have been, because I should not have made it at all.

Then I look at the journey I’ve been on these past six years, and I think I shouldn’t have made it to the point I am either.  There has been so much failure, heartbreak, exhaustion, kicking-while-I’ve-been-down, and straight-up numbness.  Somehow, miraculously, there has also been life and growth and positive change.

Everyday I am more and more His, and so it is a happy six years indeed.

 

 

 

 

