Literary Crushes

Ever fall head over heels for a character in literature?  Yeah, no, me either.  There are a couple of literary characters I have mild crushes on, though.

faramir1. Faramir from The Lord of the Rings

(Faramir from the books by the way.  They did his character a great injustice in the movies).

“I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend.”   ~Faramir

carrots2. Gilbert Blythe from Anne of Green Gables

“’Anne, look here. Can’t we be good friends?’
For a moment Anne hesitated. She had an odd, newly awakened consciousness under all her outraged dignity that the half-shy, half-eager expression in Gilbert’s hazel eyes was something that was very good to see. Her heart gave a quick, queer little beat. But the bitterness of her old grievance promptly stiffened up her wavering determination. That scene of two years before flashed back into her recollection as vividly as if it had taken place yesterday. Gilbert had called her “carrots” and had brought about her disdain before the whole school. Her resentment, which to other and older people might be as laughable as its cause, was in no whit allayed and softened by time seemingly. She hated Gilbert Blythe! She would never forgive him!”

Westley3. Westley from The Princess Bride

“As you wish.” ~Westley

“You were already more beautiful than anything I dared to dream. In our years apart, my imaginings did their best to improve on you perfection. At night, your face was forever behind my eyes. And now I see that that vision who kept me company in my loneliness was a hag compared to the beauty now before me.” ~Westley

Sidney Carton4. Sidney Carton from A Tale of Two Cities

“O Miss Manette, when the little picture of a happy father’s face looks up in yours, when you see your own bright beauty springing up anew at your feet think now and then that there is a man who would give his life, to keep a life you love beside you!” ~Sydney Carton

“It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known.” ~Sydney Carton

Charles Darnay5. Charles Darnay from A Tale of Two Cities

“I am only looking to sharing your fortunes, sharing your life and home, and being faithful to you to the death.” ~Charles Darnay

Any literary crushes you’d like to share?

One thought on “Literary Crushes

Comments are closed.